Syria

Went to the mosque today because there will be a talk on Syria after the Maghrib prayers. There was actually another talk last Wednesday, but I have to give it a miss due to bla bla bla…<insert alasan malas nak pi masjid/surau here>.

The talk is being delivered by one of the Malaysian students who was studying in Syria before the uprising, and he had to be flown back here due to the instability of the country. He is a young guy, probably in his 20s. But I sincerely admire his courage and ability to speak fluently in front of hundreds of people in the mosque.  All I can say about his talk is very eye-opening. He interspersed his talk with various graphic videos that probably most of us had never seen before… and I bet some of the pakcik and makcik in the mosque should boleh pengsan punya. One video showing a man being buried alive by Bashar’s army for proclaiming his shahadah, a couple of videos showing mutilated corpses due to bomb blast and so forth. The worst video would be the one where a group of children probably 3 to 7 years old being slaughtered….yes, slaughtered. There were grave cuts on their necks, exactly like the cut done by sharp knives, the ones that we always see on kambing/lembu during Hari Raya Korban. This is what their Korban looks like. I am totally lost for words. I have to admit..I am tearing up my eyes a bit during his talk.

But the courage and the faith of these people are what truly makes the difference here. During one of the interview, a young boy probably around 10-12 years old is sitting on the hospital bed. He lost both of his hands, one eye and some injuries on his stomach due to the bombing. When asked by the reporter, how are you feeling right now? His answer was…”Alhamdullilah. I am happy. Although I have lost both of my arms and my eye….but I am still alive and better than some other people. I still have my two legs. I still have my one eye. Insya-Allah, I hope I can see our victory soon with this one eye.”

Another video showing a boy on the operating table….probably the doctors are cutting his legs on something, and I bet there were no anaesthetic given because he is shouting…”Fisabillillah! Fisabillillah! Fisabillillah!” to calm his own nerve and trying to ignore the pain that he is going through at the moment.

At the end of the talk, the speaker asked everyone in the audience….so what are we going to do next? What are we going to do now? If you want to fight them, you have to learn to use weapons. If you want to help them with money, you have to have wealth. But are we capable to help them in any way? Just doa? Just solat hajat?

If we want to fight…..the first fight is with yourself. If subuh pun tak boleh bangun nak pi surau, then what’s the point of talking about helping all of these people. If solat sunat …or worse solat yang wajib pun tak lepas, then how can you help them? Help yourself first. Your own jihad. Your own inner battles. Then it will open the path to other things in life.

I feel like I’ve been smacked in the face….a few times.

Leave a Reply

